May 112012

It seems that I’ve really started disliking having GooglePlus, and have lost my patience with the umpteen number of newsfeeds, and lack of popularity, not to mention the impending “advertisement” extras that will probably be added.

While, I do appreciate the opportunity to use something different than the other social networks, I’m finding that it’s not really benefiting me at this time, so why continue to waste energy investing in something that ultimately serves Google’s purposes of making more money at my expense and everyone else who use’s it.

So, just in case you’re interested in how to delete a Google Plus account, here’s the text here.  I’ve chosen Delete Google+ content, to keep the other servers active for now.

——

Delete Google+ content or your entire Google profile
If you delete Google+, Google attempts to restore your experience of other Google products to the way it was before you joined Google+ and to permanently delete your Google+ circles, posts, and comments. If you delete your Google profile, you delete Google+ as well as other services and their data that depend on a Google profile. Learn more
Over the next few days, Google will attempt to delete all Google+ features and your Google+ data from your Google Account:
  • Your circles will be deleted but people in your circles will remain in your Contacts.
  • Your +1′s will be deleted.
  • Your posts and comments will be deleted and won’t be available to anyone that you shared them with.
  • Any profile information that you did not make public will be deleted.
  • Many Google+ social and sharing features will be disabled for you on other Google sites.
  • Your Google+ pages and their content will be deleted. To transfer ownership of your pages, go to Google+ Pages settings.
  • Content from other services, such as videos, will no longer be visible to people in those circles.
However:
  • No photos will be deleted: You can still access them in Picasa. To delete them, go to PicasaWeb Albums.
  • Your connections to third-party services will not be affected. To manage them go to Connected accounts settings.
  • Your chat buddies in Google Talk and Gmail will not be deleted.

One Response to “Deleting GoogePlus”

  1. Here’s the next screen of what happens for the record and my comments.

    You’ve successfully deleted Google+ and associated social content

    We’re sorry to see you leave! Please help us improve by telling us why you are leaving and what we can do better. This survey is optional but your feedback is much appreciated.

    Please tell us why you’re leaving

    —-
    I am dissatisfied with most social network services, and find that Google+ is not different enough from its competition, and not popular enough to warrant the time and energy to invest here.

    As well, I am concerned about the changes upcoming without notice, for users and developers, that makes this “experiment” more trying than it’s worth.

    I’ve also found that the updates on the screen rather slow, and sometimes don’t work on occasion.

    You’ve successfully deleted Google+ and associated social content

    We’re sorry to see you leave! Please help us improve by telling us why you are leaving and what we can do better. This survey is optional but your feedback is much appreciated.

    Please tell us why you’re leaving Characters remaining: 56 / 500
    What is your gender?
    Male
    Female
    Other
    x I’d prefer not to share

Leave a Reply

(required)

(required)

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>